Duke Blue Devils guard Grayson Allen (3) shoots during the second half against the St. John's Red Storm

Anthony Gruppuso-USA TODAY Sports

College Basketball's Top Awards Dinner Returns To St. Louis

February 07, 2018 - 8:58 am

ST. LOUIS (USBWA) - The United States Basketball Writers Association and the Missouri Athletic Club are partnering to host the College Basketball Awards dinner on Monday, April 9 at the Downtown Clubhouse. Just one week after the Men's NCAA Championship game, the best in college basketball will gather at the MAC. 

The event will feature the presentation of the Oscar Robertson Trophy to the men's national collegiate player of the year, the Wayman Tisdale Award to the freshman of the year and the Henry Iba Award to the coach of the year. In addition, former Missouri and Hall of Fame coach Norm Stewart and retired referee Ed Hightower each will receive lifetime achievement awards. 

Missouri Athletic Club members will have the first chance to make reservations before it opens to the public in two weeks. 

The event first debuted in St. Louis in 2005, and USBWA's executive director Joe Mitch rumored that is could become an annual event in St. Louis, reports the St. Louis Post-Dispatch.

The MAC also hosts the annual Jack Buck awards, which has recoginized St. Louis' most prominent sport figures since 1970. It also hosts the Hermann Trophy presentation, which is given to the top college men's and women's soccer player, since 1986.