ST. LOUIS BATTLEHAWKS: St. Louis' XFL logo, name revealed

The league's season will start Feb. 8, the weekend after the NFL season ends with the Super Bowl

Total Information AM
August 21, 2019 - 11:00 am

(Todd Warshaw /Allsport)


ST. LOUIS (KMOX) - The coming St. Louis XFL team now has its name at logo, they are the "BattleHawks." The announcement was made Wednesday afternoon, along with the seven other XFL team's logos and team names. 

The eight teams will be the Dallas Renegades, Houston Roughnecks, L.A. Wildcats, N.Y. Guardians, St. Louis BattleHawks, Seattle Dragons, Tampa Bay Vipers and DC Defenders.

You can watch the full announcement here:

Related: XFL coming to St. Louis in 2020

The XFL reached multiyear agreements with ESPN and Fox Sports on Monday to broadcast its games beginning in 2020.

The league also announced its season will start Feb. 8, the weekend after the NFL season ends with the Super Bowl.

Related: XFL reaches multiyear agreement with ESPN and Fox

Head coach and general manager of the coming St. Louis XFL franchise will be former NFL assistant coach Jonathan Hayes. He played 12 seasons in the NFL for both the Kansas City Chiefs and Pittsburgh Steelers, before starting a coaching career with the Oklahoma Sooners and Cincinnati Bengals. He was let go after this season due to Marvin Lewis getting fired after his 14 seasons as head coach of the Cincinnati Bengals.

St. Louis is among the eight cities who will be handed the reigns to a professional football franchise, set to begin play in the XFL in the spring of 2020. The other XFL frachies will be hosted in Dallas, Houston, Los Angeles, New York, Seattle, Tampa Bay and Washington D.C.

© 2019 KMOX (Entercom). All rights reserved