Miles Mikolas Named Sports Personality of the Year by Missouri Athletic Club

Ozzie Smith, Mike Kelly among others to be honored at Jack Buck Awards

Tom Ackerman
November 14, 2018 - 8:16 am

The 2018 Jack Buck Awards recipients have been announced by the Missouri Athletic Club:

Mikolas wins the award after a stellar first season in St. Louis. He went 18-4 with a 2.83 ERA. He struck out 146 batters and walked just 29 in 200.2 innings.

Related: Mikolas Gets 1st Career Shutout: 'I Love Pitching Here'

Since 1970, the Jack Buck Awards have honored some of the greatest athletes and people in St. Louis sports history. Mikolas will receive an award most recently won by his teammates, Cardinals catcher Yadier Molina, and before him it was earned by people such as Bob Gibson (1970), Ozzie Smith (1984), Brett Hull (1990), Norm Stewart (1992), Kurt Warner (2000) and T.J. Oshie (2014) and Vladimir Tarasenko (2016).

Jack Buck himself created the event over 45 years ago. He was Master of Ceremonies for the first 32 dinners. After his final appearance at the 2001 Sports Personality of the Year Dinner, the annual event was re-named the "Jack Buck Sports Awards." 

Our own Tom Ackerman will host the 2018 Jack Buck Awards on Dec. 3. It will air on KMOX radio, the event's on-air home since 1970. Seats at the 48th annual dinner and awards show can be reserved, at the Missouri Athletic Club website or by calling 314-539-4470 for more information.