Philadelphia Eagles kicker Jake Elliott (4) makes a field goal during the fourth quarter in Super Bowl LII

(Brace Hemmelgarn-USA TODAY Sports)

New Pro Football League Will Debut On CBS After Next Year's Super Bowl

March 23, 2018 - 8:27 am

Creators of the Alliance of American Football are looking to capatilize on the football-lull in the U.S. from Februrary through April. The new eight-team professional league will begin play one week after the 2019 Superbowl and has an exclusive partnership with CBS

The league was announced this week by its executive group of television and film producer Charlie Ebersol, Pro Football Hall of Famer Bill Polian, four-time All-Pro Jared Allen and two-time Super Bowl champions Justin Tuck and Troy Polamalu. The participating cities, teams, logos or players have not been announced yet.

Ebersol was a guest of the Dan Patrick Show this week and talked about how some of the rules are different than the NFL. Including no kickoffs (ball starts at the 25 yard line), no extra points (teams must go for the 2-point conversion) and a shorter play clock (30 seconds, compared to 35 seconds in the NFL). He also says the teams and cities have not yet been announced because his dad, well-known sports television executive Dick Ebersol told him if you've got something good, don't give it all away at once.

The league will have eight teams in cities to be announced in the next three months and teams will have regionally-based drafts to fill its rosters of 50 players. 

Ebersol and Polamalu have said in recent interviews that their league is not trying to compete with the NFL. 

Ebersol was the director of ESPN's "30 for 30" documentary on the XFL, which was released last year. Former co-founder of the XFL Vince McMahon is planning to start the new XFL again, in 2020.