O'Reilly takes home Selke Trophy for NHL's best defensive forward

Adding to his Conn Smythe Trophy for being the playoff MVP, the Blues forward has added to his trophy case

June 19, 2019 - 12:49 pm

ST. LOUIS (KMOX) updated with results- Wednesday night at Mandalay Bay in Las Vegas, the NHL announced its regular-season award winners and four members of the St. Louis Blues were up for honors.

Here are the Blues who were finalists, and how they finished: 

Ryan O'Reilly - Selke Trophy: Given annually to the best defensive forward

Winner: O'Reilly

During his acceptance speech, he thanked many of his teammates by name, his coach Craig Berube, general manager Doug Armstrong for bringing him in and honored Jordan Binnington for his performance in net. 

"I can't thank Doug Armstrong and the St. Louis Blues for bringing me in this year," O'Reilly says. "My family, my parents mom and dad I would not be here and be able to live my dream if it weren't for you guys."

O'Reilly also thanked his wife, and said "this has been a heck of a week."

Boston forward and 4-time Selke winner Patrice Bergeron was eighth in the NHL this season in face-off percentage (56.6 percent, minimum 750 attempts) and 10th with a 52.3 percent (minimum 50 face-offs won) while shorthanded. Mark Stone of Vegas led the NHL with 122 takeaways. O'Reilly led the NHL with 1,086 face-off wins, was fourth in shorthanded face-off wins (121) and eighth in face-off percentage (56.9 percent, minimum 450 face-offs).

OReilly - Lady Byng Trophy: Awarded to the player that displays gentlemanly conduct on the ice

Winner: Aleksander Barkov

O'Reilly was a distant second in the voting, getting 12 first-place votes compared to Barkov's 1,463.

Aleksander Barkov set a Panthers record with 96 points this season and and was tied for fifth in minor penalties drawn (34). Sean Monahan of Calgary set a career high in goals (34) and assessed six minor penalties totaling 12 minutes. O'Reilly won the Lady Byng with the Colorado Avalanche in 2013-14 and was runner-up with the Buffalo Sabres last year.

Jordan Binnington - Calder Trophy: Given to the League's rookie of the year 

Winner: Elias Pettersson

Binnington finished second in voting to Elias Pettersson, who had 151 first-place votes compared to Binnington's 18.

However, Binnington was named the Bridgestone "Clutch Performer of the Playoffs" award.

Binnington made his first debut on Jan. 7 and went 24-5-1 with a 1.89 goals-against averag to lead the NHL and was fourth in save percentage among goalies having played at least 10 games.  Rasmus Dahlin of Buffalo led rookies at his position in points (44), assists (35) and power-play points (20). Vancouver forward Elias Pettersson finished his first NHL season with a Canucks rookie-record 66 points and is the 31st player in NHL history to end a season leading rookies in goals, assists, and points.

Craig Berube - Jack Adams Award: Awarded to the NHL's coach of the year

Winner: Barry Trotz

Berube finished third in the voting, as he was named head coach a little before the halfway point in the regular season. 

Berube began the season as an associate coach but was promoted by the Blues on Nov. 19 after coach Mike Yeo was fired, the Blues then were 38-19-6 to end the year. Jon Cooper led the Tampa Bay Lightning to their first Presidents' Trophy as the League's top regular-season team. Barry Trotz coached the New York Islanders a turnaround season similar to the Blues, qualifying for the Stanley Cup Playoffs for the first time since 2016.

Doug Armstrong - General Manager of the Year

Winner: Don Sweeney

It's a little bit of revenge by the Boston Bruins, as their GM steals the award from Army. He beat out Armstrong with 80 votes compared to 63 for the Blues' GM.

Armstrong's decision to promote Berube sparked the eventual Stanley Cup Champions turnaround. Don Sweeney and his Boston Bruins are one of five Eastern Conference teams to reach the playoffs the past three seasons. Don Waddell in his first season as GM, got the Hurricanes in the playoffs for the first time since 2009.

© 2019 KMOX (Entercom). All rights reserved